Division 1

NMG Wymondham & District Table Tennis League

Welcome to the official website of the NMG Wymondham & District Table Tennis League. If you wish to know more about the history of the league, please visit our about the league page. Details about coaching sessions can be found here. If you would like to get in touch with us directly with a comment or query, please use the contact us page. 


We're off again! Seems hard to believe, but what seems like just a few short weeks since we completed the Summer League we're already two weeks into the new season. 

Saints A are the early season pace-setters in the Premier Division (partly thanks to them being one of only three teams to have played two fixtures so far!) following wins against the two newly promoted teams, Saints B & Morley B. Saints B certainly didn't roll over and die, and Barry Howes win against Phil Waity was followed up with a vintage performance from Roger Godfrey in the doubles as he teamed up with Colin Edwards to beat Phil and Paul Arthurs. Morley B also acquitted themselves well in their first game in the Premier Division and wins from young Sam Palmer and Alan Laws ensured that it wasn't a whitewash. Saints B were also in action against Morley A, on the end of a 9-1 defeat against Morley A who are second despite losing their second game 7-3 to Marauders B. Match of the season so far was between Marauders A & Watton A. Despite a composed maximum from Chris Cockburn, Watton A fought hard to secure a draw.

In Division 1 Hardingham are leading the way after two 8-2 wins against Morley C & Marauders C. Saints C are second with two wins against Ketts Park & Bunwell & iSpin. The team to watch, though, will probably be Hethersett who in their only game so far beat Woodlands 9-1, with only Alun Cannell preventing the whitewash with a singles win against Mark Oldman

* * * WATTON ON THE MOVE * * *

Watton Table Tennis Club are on the move. With immediate effect, their home venue will now be The Village Hall in Garvestone. The hall is sign-posted well  as you go through Garvestone (it's on the left near the school as you come from Wymondham on the Wymondham to Dereham Road). 

If you want to put it in your Satnav, the post code is NR9 4AD.

The move is with immediate effect so all Summer League Games where Watton are at home will be played in this new venue.

We wish the club all the best in your new home


The 2018 Annual Championships were a really enjoyable occasion with 28 enthusiastic participants not deterred by the bitterly cold weather. The Open Singles were, as always keenly contested with 5 groups of players involved in round robin matches. with the top two from each group qualifying for the knock-out stages. Mats Olsson and Chris Cockburn were a cut above the rest and ultimately met in the final in what proved to be a fascinating battle of extraordinary quality with both players playing some unbelievable shots. Chris raced into a two-set lead, but Mats refused to be flustered winning the next 3 sets to claim the title 11-7 in the fifth. Mats Olsson was again involved in the Veterans Final, winning in 3 straight against Dave Charles.

The Ladies Singles involved 4 players this year with Debbie Drew running out the eventual winner with Di Cunningham the runner up. The organisers have been asked for more time to chat for next year's competition as they were enjoying themselves so much! The Mixed Doubles also proved to be a most enjoyable event with Chris Cockburn and Di Cunningham running out winners, with Yvonne Ayliffe and Scott Morgan runners up.

Twelve pairings contested the Open Doubles with Mats Olsson & Tom Brown running out 3-2 winners over Dave Charles and Kevin Dumble in another captivating battle. In the Pot-Luck Doubles, pairings were drawn on the day and played on a Handicap basis. Dave Charles was drawn with Watton team-mate Andy Old and they battled their way to the final where they met Scott Morgan and Kevin Dumble. Andy played a blinder in the final, belying his high handicap as he and Dave run out 21-10, 21-17 winners

Andy was in action again in the Division 1 singles final, having claimed the notable scalp of Roger Godfrey along the way, though Barry Howes proved too strong for him in the final as he won in 4. Roger gained some revenge over Andy though, in the Division 1 Doubles as he teamed up with Barry Howes to win the title with Andy and son, Matt runners-up.

In the Handicap Singles Final, Chris Cockburn was again in action, running out 21-16, 21-16 winner over Dave Charles. 

With the last game finishing at around 7pm after a 9am start, it was an exhausting but enjoyable day for all.

Recent Photos