The Giant Killers

Every F A cup slaying since 1888


Reading first entered the F A cup back in 1878, hitting the headlines for the first time with their cup run of 1901 while in the Southern League. The club gained league status in 1920 but have spent the vast majority of their time since in the lower divisions before finally breaking into the big time at the start of this century. Few fans remain who can remember possibly Reading's greatest day in the cup when Sheffield Wednesday were their victims in 1929. It's still early days for the Royals as a top flight club but for the moment they can still boast having not yet been beaten by a lower division club while among the elite.

Magic Moments


1-0 @ Bolton Wanderers

Second round: 23rd February 1901

Scorers: A. Sharp

Attendance: 10,000

Ranked at the time: 8

Today: outside the top 200


2-1 @ Notts County

First round: January 25th 1902

Scorers: Allison, Alec Davidson

Attendance: 20,000

Ranked at the time: 17

Today: outside the top 300


1-0 vs Aston Villa

Second round replay: 7th February 1912


Scorer: James Foster

Ranked at the time: 20

Today: Outside the top 100

Team: 1:James Caldwell, 2:Jack Smith, 3:Fred Bartholomew, 4:Smart, 5:Ted Hanney, 6:Jimmy Bradley, 7:Harry Lee, 8:G W Bailey, 9:Alan Foster, 10:Len Andrews, 11:Haydn Green


1-0 vs Tottenham Hostpur

Second round: 1st February 1913

Attendance: 20,000

Scorer: Reggie Pinfield

Ranked at the time: 64

Today: Outside the top 300

Team: 1:Rab Bernard, 2:Jack Smith, 3:Charlie Stevens, 4:?, 5:?, 6:Ted Hanney, 7:J Morris, 8:Joe Bailey, 9:Reggie Pinfield, 10:Max Seeburg, 11:A Burton


2-1 vs Manchester United

Third round second replay: Monday January 17th 1927

Villa Park, Birmingham

Attendance: 16,500

Scorers: Frank Richardson {pen}, Bill Johnstone

Ranked at the time: 124

Team: 1:Joe Duckworth, 2:Bert Eggo, 3:Pat McConnell, 4:Bill Inglis, 5:Alf Messer, 6:Dai Evans, 7:Murdo McDonald, 8:Ted Braithwaite, 9:Bill Johnstone, 10:Frank Richardson, 11:Jack Robson


1-0 vs Sheffield Wednesday

Fourth round: Saturday January 26th 1929

Attendance: 25,248

Scorer Bill Johnstone

Ranked at the time: 12

Today: Inside the top 70

 Team: 1:Joe Duckworth, 2:Ted Smith, 3:Alf Messer, 4:Sid Chandler, 5:Bill Inglis, 6:Tommy Meads, 7:Harry Goodwin, 8:Murdo McDonald, 9:Bill Johnstone, 10:John Hunter, 11:Bert Oswald


2-1 @ Liverpool

Third round replay {After Extra Time}: Wednesday January 13th 2010

Attendance: 31,063

Scorers: Gylfi Sigurdsson, Shane Long

Ranked at the time: 198

Today: Outside the top 100

Team: 1:Adam Federici, 5:Matthew Mills {cautioned}, 16:Ivar Ingimarsson {cautioned}, 24:Ryan Bertrand, 4:Kalifa Cisse {replaced by 34:Brian Howard 59}, 6:Brynjar Gunnarsson {cautioned}, 11:Jobi McAnuff, 20:Jem Karacan {cautioned-replaced by 9:Shane Long 81}, 25:Gylfi Sigurdsson, 18:Simon Church, 23:Grzegorz Rasiak {replaced by 14:Jimmy Kebe 65}

1-0 vs Burnley

Fourth round: Saturday January 23rd 2010

Attendance: 12,910

Scorer: Gylfi Sigurdsson

Ranked at the time: 435

Team: 1:Adam Federici, 5:Matthew Mills {cautioned}, 16:Ivar Ingimarsson {cautioned}, 24:Ryan Bertrand, 40:Andy Griffin, 6:Brynjar Gunnarsson {replaced by 14:Jimmy Kebe 75},11:Jobi McAnuff, 20:Jem Karacan, 25:Gylfi Sigurdsson, 18:Simon Church {replaced by 9:Shane Long 74}, 23:Grzegorz Rasiak {replaced by 36 Gunnar Thorvaldsson 83}


1-0 West Bromwich Albion

 Third Round: Saturday January 8th 2011

Attendance: 13,005

Scorer: Shane Long {image left}

Ranked at the time: 663

Team:  1:Adam Federici, 5:Matthew Mills, 23:Ian Harte, 24:Shane Cummings, 26:Alex Pearce, 4:Jem Karacan, 8:Mikele Leigertwood, 11:Jobi McAnuff, 14: Jimmy Kebe, 9:Shane Long {replaced by 18:Simon Church-75}: 10:Noel Hunt {Replaced by 19:Hal Robson-Kanu-85}

3-1 West Bromwich Albion
Fifth round: Saturday February 20th 2016

Attendance: 19,566 

Scorers:Paul McShane, Michael Hector, Lucas Piazon

Ranked at the time: 494

Reading:  26:Ali Al Habsi, 2:Chris Gunter, 5:Paul McShane, 35:Jake Cooper, 11:Jordan Obita, 9:Hal Robson-Kanu, 6:Oliver Norwood, 8:Michael Hector, 21:Stephen Quinn {replaced by 17:Lucas Piazon-90+3}, 10:Deniss Rakels {replaced by 20:Ola John-59}, 31: Simo Cox {replaced by 7:Matej Vydra-59}. Manager: Brian McDermott


Members Area

Newest Members