The Giant Killers

Every F A cup slaying since 1888


Proud Preston are not only original members of the Football League but they were champions for the first two seasons, completing the league and cup double in 1889. The club have only managed to win the cup once since, in 1938 when George Mutch blasted his last minute penalty in off the Huddersfield Town crossbar. Preston last played among the elite in 1961 and reached the cup final as a second division club in 1964 but the years that followed saw the club sink into the lowest league and even faced re-election in the early 80s. Back in 1908 Brighton inflicted a defeat that Preston fans who were present still had nightmares about decades later.

Magic Moments


5-2 @ Bolton Wanderers

Third round replay: Wednesday January 13th 1932


Scorers: Bobby Crawford, Alex Finney {o.g}, Ted Harper, George Bargh, James Wagstaffe {o.g}

Ranked at the time: 45

Today: outside the top 100

Team: 1:George Wolf, 2:Frank Gallimore, 3:Frank Ward, 4:Gavin Nisbet, 5:Jack Nelson, 6:Bobby Crawford, 7:Alec Reid, 8:George Bargh, 9:Ted Harper, 10:Dick Rowley, 11:Bert Hales {manager: James Taylor}

 1-0 VS Leeds United

Third round: Saturday, January 13th 1934

Attendance: 29,158

Scorer: Bob Kelly {10} {image right}

Ranked at the time:208

 3-0 vs Nottingham Forest
Third Round: Saturday January 4th 1969

Attendance: 20,008      

Scorers: Willie Irvine [2], Derek Temple    

Ranked at the time: 268

North End:  1:Alan Kelly, 2:George Ross, 3:Jimmy McNab, 4:Alex Spark, 5:Bill Cranston, 6:Ricky Heppolette, 7:Derek Temple, 8:Ken Knighton, 9:Willie Irvine, 10:Gerry Ingham, 11:Frank Lee

Members Area

Newest Members