The Giant Killers

Every F A cup slaying since 1888


Middlesbrough first entered the F A cup in 1883 and joined the Northern league in 1889, gaining membership of the league in 1899. 'Boro joined the top flight in 1902 and stayed in the top two divisions for the next six decades before sinking into the Third Division for the first time in 1966. Boro made it back to the big time in 1974 and although they have spent most of the time since in the top division they did suffer a drop back into the third tier for two seasons in 1986. In the 90s Boro finally reached their first ever F A cup final but earned the rare distinction of being on level terms in the showpiece for less than a minute, falling behind to the fastest cup final goal ever when losing to Chelsea. 'Boro were chasing a place back in the big time when they pulled off their biggest cupset, silencing the mighty Manchester City on their own patch in 2015.

Magic Moments


3-1 vs Newcastle United

First round: 9th February 1901

Scorers: Andy McCowie, Sandy Robertson, Willie Wardrope

Ranked at the time: 21

Today: outside the top 500

Team: Frail, Ramsey, Smith, McNally, Davidson, Moran, McCowie, Brown, Wilkie, Wardrope, Robertson


5-1 vs Leeds United

Third round: Saturday January 9th 1926

Attendance: 29,000

Scorer: Jim MCcLelland {5}

Ranked at the time:133

Team: 1:Jack Clough, 2:Walter Holmes, 3:Reg Freeman, 4:Billy McAllister, 5:Maurice Webster, 6:Don Ashman, 7:George Jones, 8:Billy Birrell, 9:Jim McClelland, 10:Jackie Carr, 11:Owen Williams


5-3 vs Leicester City

Third round: Saturday January 8th 1927


Scorers: Billy Birrell {2}, Owen Williams, Billy Pease, George Camsell {pictured}

Ranked at the time: 149

Team: 1:Jimmy Mathieson, 2:Frank Twine, 3:?, 4:Joe Miller, 5:Robert Ferguson, 6:Don Ashman, 7:Billy Pease, 8:Billy Birrell, 9:George Camsell, 10:Jackie Carr, 11:Owen Williams


2-1 West Ham United

Third Round: Saturday January 3rd 1970

Attendance: 32,585       

Scorers: Derrick Downing, Hugh McIlmoyle    

Ranked at the time: 400

Team: 1:Willie Whigham, 2:Alex Smith, 3:Gordon Jones, 4:George Smith, 5:Bill Gates, 6:Frank Spraggon, 7:Derrick Downing 8:Joe Laidlaw, 9:Hugh McIlmoyle, 10:John Hickton, 11:Willie Maddren


2-0 at Manchester City

Fourth round: Saturday January 24th 2015

Attendance: 44,836 

Scorer: Patrick Bamford {53}, Kike {90}

Ranked at the time:78

Team:40:Thomas Mejias Osorio, 18:Dean Whitehead, 4:Daniel Ayala, 6:Ben Gibson, 3:George Friend, 8:Adam Clayton, 7:Grant Leadbetter, 23:Patrick Bamford {Replaced by 33:Yanic Wildschut-90 + 5}, 10:Lee Tomlin {Replaced by 20:Adam Reach-81}, 27:Albert Adomah, 21:Jelle Vossen {Replaced by 9:Kike-87}, Head Coach: Aitor Karanka