My Day Affiliates-My Day Gardens

                        My Day Affiliates - A Group of Individual Wedding Specialists to make your day the best day!
My Day Gardens -  A Small Wedding Venue and Farm

Heart Chakra

Forth- Heart- I want to give & receive love Chakra - Anahata

Location Center of chest
Blockage can manifest as immune
system or heart problems, or a lack of compassion.

As the quality of the heart chakra is self love, it is the chakra through which many of us have a great deal of trouble expressing ourselves.

The heart chakra is considered the seat of balance in the body. It is associated not only with the heart, but also the lungs and thymus (immune system). The associated element is air.

The heart chakra anchors the life force - our breathing. It is our breathing that effects movement of the rib cage and consequent massaging of our vital organs beneath it. This massaging action directly affects how well, or how poorly, our digestion and assimilation processes work.

So, what do we do? When we are upset we have great ways of avoiding synthesizing our emotions. We chain smoke, which is a wonderful way to diminish the efficacy of the lungs and an effective way of stifling emotions. Another method is to hold our breath or breathe shallowly. We are all pretty expert in the art of how not to breathe. In fact, considering that it is this very process that keeps us alive, it is amazing how many of us have never learned to do it properly.

Those of us in the above category are classic candidates for lung cancer, pneumonia, (water/tears in the lungs), heart disease etc.

In the military, men were trained in “correct” posture - head up, shoulders back. An excellent way of armoring the heart center to avoid having to feel emotions when entering the battle field. Unfortunately many of us were trained this way at home and in school too. Breast implants are another good way of armoring the heart center and very effective in blocking energy flow in the body. Most of us are actually experts in avoiding expression through this center.

The physiological effect of true laughter and smiling on the thymus is to strengthen it. Just being in touch with our joy will strengthen the immune system. The connection between a healthy immune system and self-love is undeniable. When we look at the number of immune system disorders in our society today, it is indicative of the underdeveloped heart chakra most of us have.

You know what it feels like to fall in love? Suddenly everything seems to go right, you feel better about yourself and can express yourself to this person like you never have to anyone else. Even your health problems seem to diminish! When we are with that someone special we feel more creative, more intelligent, more beautiful.

We spend a lot of time dreaming of falling in love and trying to find someone to fall in love with. We may be in love with that person's creative talent, intellect, ability to interact, or beauty. Whatever draws us to another person (consciously or unconsciously) is usually an aspect of ourselves we see reflected in that person. When we are with him or her our heart chakra expands, and becomes more dynamic. As a result, we allow ourselves to observe the special within us.

At first the feelings are of bliss and joy because we are seeing ourselves through the beloved's eyes and self-love is possible. Sadly, most of us are so used to giving away our power (under-functioning solar plexus chakra) that we continue to project what is special about us onto our beloved and refuse to own it as that which is special about us. As a result we become disillusioned with him/her and “fall” out of love.

The reason our ability to love is conditional is that we are requiring the other person to make us special. How can we possibly think we are being honest when we say “I love you” to someone if we do not even know how to love ourselves? What we are really saying is “I love you...because you make me feel a certain way”: “you are in total control of my emotions”. We are giving away our power and putting tremendous pressure on our partners to be custodians of our emotional stability, thereby setting ourselves up for disappointment (a misnomer frequently used instead of the word anger).

Those of us who have decided to be “selfless” and work and slave to make our family happy or save the world could be misguided. Probably, the best thing we can do for the world is to begin by expressing ourselves through our heart chakra i.e. loving self. If we, as the microcosm, have internal battles with self going on, how can we possibly expect the macrocosm to reflect peace and unity? We are hypocritical if we profess to be devoting our lives to “fixing” the world if we aren't also working to heal our relationship with ourselves.

Ideally, if we are healthily expressing through the heart chakra and have a good relationship with self, then the possibility that the rest of our chakras are dynamic and healthy is increased. The heart being considered the seat of balance in the body makes self love the key to a healthy chakra system.

If you love yourself and then fall in love with someone else, the chances for a healthy enduring relationship are high. The new expansion to your heart chakra will allow the energy to flow more dynamically out to the other chakras. We “fall in love” and take the energy down to our solar plexus chakra and synthesize it. Ideally we then take it down to our sexual chakra and express ourselves sensually/sexually to our beloved. We then allow the energy to flow to our base chakra and seek to put down roots (earth element) together, marry, have babies, a white picket fence, etc.

Our inner attitudes about self are often reflected in the kinds of people we draw into our lives. We have but to look around us to see what we really want. It is reflected in what we already have. If we shake our heads and say “no way, this is the furthest thing from what I want,” be sure that some part of you believes this is what you deserve and need right now. If we look at our reality from this perspective, it adds incentive to develop a loving relationship with oneself.

Here's a quick summary of the 7 Chakras:


1. Root Chakra - Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.
Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.

Learn More about the Root Chakra


2. Sacral Chakra - Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.
Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.
Learn More about the Sacral Chakra


3. Solar Plexus Chakra - Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.
Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.
Learn More about the  Solar plexus


4. Heart Chakra - Our ability to love.
Location: Center of chest just above heart.
Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.
Learn More about the Heart Chakra



 5. Throat Chakra - Our ability to communicate.
Location: Throat.
Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.
Learn More about the Throat Chakra


 6. Third Eye Chakra - Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.
Location: Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)
Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.
                        Learn More about the Third Eye Chakra

 7. Crown Chakra - The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.
Location: The very top of the head.
Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

Learn More about the Crown Chakra


Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.