4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330, Marina del Rey CAIf the "
Received: from"
ip address you entered gives you "Marina del Ray" then we know is it is not their location.On the same page below Marina del Ray :NetType: IANA Special Use
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-1.IANA.ORG
NameServer: BLACKHOLE-2.IANA.ORG
IANA = "Internet Assigned Numbers Authority" IANA has nothing to do with the email you received. IANA uses extra set of ip addresses that begin with
10,127, 169, 172 or 192. They are used in private networks for computers, modems and routers and should never appear on the internet email headers unless it is
gmail. In other words if you get Marina del Ray, IANA or an ip address with the above prefix, it means someone is hiding their ip address or not revealing it like gmail does. It could also be from another country like Amsterdam. Again, if it is gmail and the ip begins with a 10 we cannot find their location unless you use an email tracker. Also look at
"Received: by" to find their location. If it still begins with 10 or you still get Marina del Ray then we will have to dig deeper using all the Whois from different parts of the world. If you get Marina del Ray or no answer then proceed to the next whois. If you finally get a country then maybe it is from there.
For example if I use
10.229.15.75
in the RIPE NCC's Whois I get "Amsterdam" but nothing in the other whois'.
It could be from Amsterdam but we cannot be certain. If it is gmail we must use an email tracker when we get an ip address that begins with "10"
Anyone can hide their ip address with some type of software .
However, if you cannot see an ip or if it does not match a major city near them
than you know they are scammers.
WHOIS
Use this one first since most scams are from here:
Europe, the Middle East, Central Asia, and African countries located
north of the equator
Click here
for the RIPE NCC's Whois.- Central and Southern African Region Click here for AfriNIC's Whois.
- Asia/Pacific Region
Click here
for APNIC's Whois.
- Canada, the United States, and several islands in the Caribbean Sea and North Atlantic Ocean
Click here
for ARIN's Whois.
- Latin America and
some Caribbean Islands
Click here
for LACNIC's Whois.
If you get some crappy weird stuff after the "
Received: from"
then it is a scam.They inserted instructions to their mass mailer application.Example:Received: from %RNDUCCHAR1524 (j236.128.26.76.%RNDLCCHAR15357.ti.yahoo.com 96.208.178.254)
by mail08.t.yahoo.com (47.1.777akv719/%RNDDIGIT12.4.50) with SMTP id fwf54N4Wnto%RNDDIGIT15;
Wed, 06 Oct 2004 09:22:39 +0500