Well, this article is really off topic here. Infact, almost worthless
to a dead Google group, because I would essentially be the only one
viewing it. o.o
But! I'll get to the point. Recently, I stumbled upon this Advertising
firm that's offering to give away a free PSP for members who,
A.) Recruit 5 others to join.
and
B.) Sing up for one of the services offered by one of the firm's
affiliates
That's it. Is it a scam..? Do people really get their stuff? Well, I'll
try and explain some of this crap, this is where the meat of the
article begins.
For starters, I will address the most obvious question abroad. It
sounds too good to be true.
Well, don't worry, if you yourself thought the same thing, then I know
you most possess vast knowledge of how our society operates. Its very
simple in a capitalist society and with dealing with corporations in
any form that the number one rule is (is) that it MUST be profitable to
the corporation first, then to the consumer. And following this, of
course, everyone knows how easy it is to get screwed over.
I will tell you now, just so you don't click that 'X' at the top of
your browswer just yet, that infact there have been people who have
done the same deal and supposedly recieved their product. Now...
Continuing, how is this possible? How could this advertising firm be
able to sustain its offer while making a significant earning at the
same time?
Above all... Is it some kind of pyramid scheme?
Well, addressing it simply, the most important aspect of you joining
the site is the recruiting others. They're usually expecting you to
pick a popular service from one of their affiliates, which is usually
really expensive (Don't worry, I'll tell you how to get around such a
flashy price o.o). They're also expecting you to recruit 5 others. So,
in the end, you've earned X amount of money for this advertising firm,
allowing them to make a profit while repaying you for all your grueling
labor with a piece-O'-crap substitution, PSP. Each person who joins the
site must do the same thing. Recruit 5 more people.
So, is that a pyramid scheme? Yes and no. You're recruiting others, but
unlike traditional pyramid schemes, it doesn't fall apart once it
reaches the bottom. That explains how the Corporation wins. Plus, their
affiliates pay for the PSPs, not them.
This specific site has been mentioned on the news several times, and
TechTV. There is a few other important things to point out of why this
probably isn't a scam.
It is law in this country that any criminal service offered, any and
all of its affiliates are also liable to civil cases and penalization.
Lists of affiliate's services you can choose from include Blockbuster
and bestbuy, for example. Why would these affiliates purposely
incriminate themselves, risking losing millions?
Its probably important to mention that the site that runs this is the
same one that did the free Ipod bid, and that is widely know to have
been very successful, and alot of confirmed deliveries were made.
How to sign up for the service, (and how I'll teach you to beat the
corporation at its own game ~,^):
First, I'll give you the link to the site. Follow my instructions.
(My referal ID) Go to this site:
http://www.FreePSPs.com/?r=18368349
Sign up is pretty simple. Enter the stuff they ask. You can figure most
of this crap out. Confirm your account via e-mail, etc. The point of
this little tutorial is for the services portion.
I'm going to pick Video Proffesor. Its free. All they ask for is $6.95
shipping. Get five people, pay $6.95, get PSP.
See? If it is a scam, you're out $6.95. Ehh.. This article is winding
down now. I forgot alot of stuff. Well, anywho...
Before I signed up for this, I did some research. And I've found alot
of sites and forum postings that confirm that it isn't scam, that they
did in fact recieve their stuff. Here's a few links to support.. o.o
www.matrixwatch.org/forums/ archive/index.php/t-2568.html
Well.. There's a shitload of other sites. Just look on Google.
Like I said before, and alot of people have agreed, is highly unlikely
that it is a scam. But there's always a risk. And I'm a bum, without
money, unlike 99% of other PS2 people. So I take risks. If it is a
scam, you're out $6.95, meh. Anywho..
To join the site again... Go here!
http://www.FreePSPs.com/?r=18368349
Thanks, I appreciate it!
-By Shinra